The Tunisian Dialogue Quartet receives Nobel Peace Prize Award

    The Tunisian Dialogue Quartet receives Nobel Peace Prize Award

    Dec 10, Oslo: The  Tunisian National Dialogue Quartet which saved Tunisia from the brinks of a civil war at the wake of The Arab Springs was awarded with this year's Nobel Peace Prize on Thursday.

    " The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided that the Nobel Peace Prize  for 2015, is to be awarded to the Tunisian National Dialogue Quartet, for its decisive contribution to the building of a pluralistic democracy in Tunisia in the wake of the Tunisian revolution of 2011," the peace prize committee said.

    According to the Committee, the Quartet was formed in the summer of 2013 when the democratization process was in danger of collapsing as a result of political assassinations, and wide spread social unrest. It established an alternative for a peaceful political process at a time when the country was at the brinks of a civil war. "It was thus instrumental in enabling Tunisia in the space of a few years in establishing a constitutional system of governance guaranteeing fundamental rights for the entire population irrespective of gender, political conviction, or religious belief."

    "The National Dialogue Quartet is comprised of four key organizations in the Tunisian Civil society: the Tunisian general labor union, The Tunisian Confederation of Trade, Industries and Handicraft, The Tunisian Human Rights League and the Tunisian Order of Lawyers, and the peace prize has been awarded to the Quartet and not these organizations individually," the Committee stated.

    The leaders of the organizations that form the Quartet, Houcine Abbassi for Tunisian General Labour Union; Wided Bouchamaoui for Tunisian Confederation of Industry, Trade and Handicrafts; Abdessattar Ben Moussa for theTunisian Human Rights League; and Mohamed Fadhel Mahfoudh for Tunisian Order of Lawyers were present at the award ceremony to receive the prestigious award for their work.

    The Medal

    Meanwhile, as the world watched this year's Nobel Peace Prize Laureates receive their medal, The Columbians too watched the event with pride, as the Gold Medal this year was made using Ethical Gold from a gold mine in Colombia. This is the first time ethical gold has been used to create the medal and it was created in collaboration with a Colombia-based nonprofit the Alliance for Responsible Mining to highlight the problems faced by small-scale miners in poor parts of the world.

    The 150 grams of 18-carat gold in the 63-millimeter medal was made from gold mined at a small mine in the town of Iquira which was awarded with Fair mined certification for meeting strict requirements on responsible practices, environmental protection and social development.

    The Fair mined certification aims at reducing the impact of illegal mining in mineral-rich developing nations around the world.

    The Secrecy kept alive

    The announcement on October had come as a surprise as many had predicted either the Pope or Angela Merkel to take the award. However, like always the Nobel Committee surprised all speculators and announced a name that no one had expected. In fact according to reports a lot of people had expected the one of following people to grab the prize this year:

    • Dmitry Muratov, editor-in-chief and one of the founders of Novaya Gazeta, an independent Russian newspaper

    • American Edward Snowden, the former National Security Agency contractor who leaked documents about secret U.S. surveillance programs

    • The Article 9 Association, a pacifist group fighting to preserve a Japanese constitutional clause that prohibits war as a means of settling international disputes

    • Colombian President Juan Manuel Santos and Timoleon Jimenez, the leader of the Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia, or FARC, who agreed to a path for peace this year, setting the groundwork for a final accord

    • Jeanne Nacatche Banyere, Jeannette Kahindo Bindu and Dr. Denis Mukwege, who help rape victims in the Democratic Republic of the Congo

    • Mussie Zerai, a Catholic priest who is a phone contact for migrants crossing the Mediterranean Sea for Europe, passing on the coordinates of their boats to rescuers and coast guards

    • Raif Badawi, who in 2008 launched the Free Saudi Liberals website.

    History of The Nobel Peace Prize

    The Nobel Peace Prize is one of the five Nobel Prizes created by the Swedish industrialist, inventor, and armaments manufacturer Alfred Nobel.And since 1901, to those who have "done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations, for the abolition or reduction of standing armies and for the holding and promotion of peace congresses, on December 10th the death anniversary of Alfred Nobel.

    The Oslo Times


    Related Posts